Topical Ditty

Given current events, I decided to try my hand at writing song lyrics:

Six Weeks Days On An Icy Boat

When I was a young boy, I wanted to run the world
That’s the life for me. Best where all can see
Spirit of a sailor. Party in every port
The lust of a pioneer. Pass another beer.

I promised you’ll fry, thunderclap in the sky
Cameras flash, people stare. Board the boat, if you dare
I just spent six weeks days on an icy boat
Lucky just to keep afloat

Antarctica, threatened residual
Ice glistens like a pearl, heating up the world
The chilling truth, doesn’t stop the IPCC
So why should it stop me? When I speak for a fee?

Ah c’mon all you lads, pass the drinks and forget
There are memes to explore, tales to tell back on shore
I just spent six weeks days on an icy boat
Lucky just to keep afloat

Climate science can be cruel; easily fooled by her kind
There’s a grant in my sails. Will protect and prevail
I just spent six weeks days on an icy boat
Six weeks days on an icy boat

If you find this vaguely reminiscent of another song, keep it to yourself. 🙂

This entry was posted in Environment, Satire and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

