America is over

That’s the headline on M.E. Synon’s blog article.

Mary Ellen writes:

Since Barack Obama’s re-election last week, my email account has turned into something like a counselling helpline for distressed Americans. …

However, I am not as grief-stricken as these people. Of course, I send my condolences. I even offer an historic parallel in which they may find comfort: Southerners had to survive starvation, the suspension of law and civil liberties, and the military occupation of their country between 1865 and 1877. Grieving Americans must take inspiration from such fortitude and carry on.

But I only offer that as a polite gesture of comfort. I can’t see that Americans today, even Southerners today, have the endurance or character of the Southerners then. The old fortitude, like the old virtue, is gone from all parts of America.

I figured that out long before last week’s election results. I figured out years ago that America is over.

What I’m seeing in these emails is the grief of Americans who, until last Tuesday, had hope that the United States wasn’t yet over, that it could still be put right if only this latest, most dangerous president could be voted out of the White House.

Their hope was always misplaced. They were suckers.

Against all evidence, they embraced the hope that America could still be rescued. It can’t, not while the only available ‘rescuers’ are the contemptible Republican party, and not while vast millions of Americans have embraced a welfare culture which is destroying both the finances and the character of the country.

The whole article is worth reading.  Concluding, Mary Ellen quotes Canadian Mark Steyn:

Washington cannot be saved from itself … Americans as a whole have joined the rest of the Western world in voting themselves a lifestyle they are not willing to earn. The longer any course correction is postponed the more convulsive it will be. Alas, on Tuesday, the electorate opted to defer it for another four years. I doubt they’ll get that long.

And for Australia? Substitute “Canberra” for “Washington” and “Australians” for “Americans”.

Pity my poor, bloody country.

This entry was posted in Securing Liberty. Bookmark the permalink.